top of page

Internship COMPLETE!

I have had a wonderful 16 weeks at Delivery Girl Entertainment, Inc. Working at this company has helped me gain experience, life lessons, and a few new business connections. Now that I look back on these 16 weeks, I wish I would've managed my time a little bit better. As an intern, you always want to put your best foot forward and stand out but you have to always remember to prioritize your time. I had to juggle school, a radio show, the internship, my home life, and my social life. As an intern you have to be able to maximize all the time you have in a day. Utilize the calendar in your phone, purchase a planner, and stay on top of all your work. The downside to an internship is that there are times where your superior may blur the lines between intern and part-time employee. I had to learn when to speak up and remind my boss that I was in school and I that I needed time to study and to do homework.

I grew as a young professional during my time at the internship. I learned the importance of appearance, integrity, and ambition. I learned that my appearance is everything, although my internship was very laid-back, I never knew who might walk through the doors of our office. I set a standard for myself when I started and I stuck by it until the end. "Always try your best to be the best", there was never an excuse for not trying and even if I failed, at least I tried. Lastly, there is nothing wrong with having a lot of ambition. I was determined to succeed, I was determined to network every second I could, and I would never let an opportunity pass me by. Just because you intern for one company, DOES NOT mean that you cannot keep your options open. We intern to learn and gain experience, you have to make sure you get every ounce of knowledge you can.

I think by having an ePortfolio I have impressed a lot of the professional people I have come in contact with. Most have not met a young professional who has one and is actively working on it. This has really helped me shine because my ePortfolio is also connected to my personal website for my brand. I have a lot of people sending me emails who want me to come and network with them, set up interviews for my radio show, and even to come speak to youth programs! I had a chance to speak at an Internship meeting on campus and I touched on how important it is for us to have a digital portfolio because our online lives now play a big part in how employers see us. I will continue to utilize this resource and tweak it as I grow as a professional.

(Side Note: Make sure you have business cards with a photo of you and your contact info on it. People will remember a face sometimes before they remember a name, so why not give them both!)

Me at VA Hip Hop after a meeting gone well!
On set for a promotional  shoot for a client!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page